Phantom Maelstrom Blog is no longer active. The new address is at

Saturday, December 31, 2011

Official list of Philippine holidays for 2012

Malacañang has a list of Philippine holidays for the upcoming year 2012. This official list of Philippine Holidays for 2012 is based on Proclamation No. 295 which is also known as "The Declaration of Regular Holidays, Special Non-Working Holidays, and Special Holidays for schools for the year 2012."

Don't be surprise if they include Chinese New Year on the list. They say the Chinese New Year, is one of the most revered and festive events celebrated not only in China but also in the Philippines by both Chinese Filipinos and ordinary Filipinos as well; and the joint celebration is a manifestation of our solidarity with our Chinese Filipino brethren who have been part of our lives in many respects as a country and as a people; 23 January 2012 may be declared as a special (non-working) day without detriment to public interest.

Official List of Philippine Holidays for 2012
(based on Proclamation No. 295 signed by Pres. Benigno "Noynoy" Aquino III on November 24, 2011)
See link here.

A. Regular Holidays - 2012
  • New Year's Day - January 1 (Sunday)
  • Maundy Thursday - April 5 (Thursday) - Christian Catholic Holiday
  • Good Friday - April 6 (Friday) - Christian Catholic Holiday
  • Araw ng Kagitingan (Day of Heroism) - April 9 (Monday)
  • Labor Day - May 1 (Tuesday)
  • Independence Day - June 12 (Tuesday)
  • National Heroes Day - August 27 (Monday; last Monday of August)
  • Bonifacio Day - November 30 (Friday)
  • Christmas Day - December 25 (Tuesday)
  • Rizal Day - December 30 (Sunday)
B. Special (non-working) Holidays - 2012
  • Chinese New Year - January 23 (Monday) - New (Filipino-Chinese Holiday)
  • Ninoy Aquino Day - August 21 (Tuesday)
  • All Saint's Day - November 1 (Thursday)
  • Additional special non-working day - November 2 (Friday)
  • New Year's Eve - December 31 (Monday)
C. Others - 2012
  • 1986 EDSA People Power Revolution anniversary - February 25 (Saturday) - No classes only for schools
  • Eid'l Adha (Islam Feast of Sacrifice) - to be announced later
  • Eid'l Fitr (End of Ramadan) - to be announced later
Note that the list here is subject to change. Please see later updates in the future for possible changes.


Post a Comment

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Powerade Coupons